Officers & Directors 1999-2000



James E. "Jim" Ervin -International President

James E. "Jim" Ervin, of Albany, Georgia, is the international president. He served as an international director during 1992-1994 and as a district governor and council chairman. He is a member of the Albany Lions Club and has been District Leadership Development chairman, Speaker's Bureau chairman and Multiple District Long Range Planning chairman. President Ervin is a past director and trustee of the Georgia Lions Lighthouse Foundation and the Georgia Lions Camp for the Blind. He has also served on the 1996 Georgia Lions Paralympic Committee and represented the association at four International Service Club Leader Conferences. President Ervin has been a presenter, moderator and discussion leader at 12 USA/Canada Leadership Forums. He has received the Extension Award, Guiding Lion Award, two International President's Certificates of Appreciation, seven International President's awards and the Ambassador of Good Will Award. He is also a Progressive Melvin Jones Fellow. President Ervin has 26 years of ownership and management experience in transportation and employee leasing companies and is a member of numerous professional organizations. He and his wife, Lion Betty, have four children and four grandchildren.



Kajit "KJ" Habanananda -Immediate Past International President

Kajit "KJ" Habanananda, of Bangkok, Thailand, is the immediate past president of Lions Clubs International and served as an international director in 1982-84 and as a 100% district governor, council chairman and district cabinet secretary. He is a charter member of the Bangkok (Cosmopolitan) Lions Club and has recorded 34 years of perfect attendance since becoming a Lion. He has attended 31 Orient and Southeast Asia Lions (OSEAL) Forums and was executive secretary of the 12th forum and chairman of the 26th forum in 1987. Immediate Past President Habanananda has received numerous awards, among them the 100% President's Award, seven Extension Awards, the Senior Master Key, 15 International President's awards and the Ambassador of Good Will Award. He is also a Melvin Jones Fellow and was the first Lead Gift donor to Campaign SightFirst. Immediate Past International President Habanananda manages business enterprises involving real estate, housing, building management, international consulting, aerospace and telecommunications. He and his wife, Panida, have two sons and a daughter.



Dr. Jean Behar -First Vice President

Dr. Jean Behar, of Sainte-Adresse, France, is the first vice president and served as an international director during 1990-1992 and is a charter member of the Le Havre (Expansion) Lions Club. He served as a 100% district gover-nor and council chairman and chairman of both his district's and multiple district's Activities committees. He is a founder and honorary chairman of Medico Lions Clubs of France, which organizes assistance from French Lions clubs to developing countries. Vice President Behar has been a group leader at District Governors-Elect seminars and a speaker at several seminars at four international conventions. He was a Multi-national Coordinator of Campaign SightFirst for West European countries, the association's representative to UNESCO in 1994-1997 and to UNICEF in 1995-1996. Vice President Behar also served as president of the 46th Europa Forum in 1996. He was a radiologist, chairman of the Department of Radiology at the General Hospital of Le Havre, chairman of the College of Medical Imaging of Upper Normandy and chairman of the union of users of Imaging Technics in France. He is a founder of a private hospital and was an advisor to the Appellate Court of Rouen. Vice President Behar has received the Top Ten Activities Award, seven International President's awards and the Ambassador of Good Will Award. He is also a Progressive Melvin Jones Fellow. He was also awarded the National Order of Merit by the president of the French Republic. Vice President Behar and his wife, Stella, have four children and eight grandchildren.



J. Frank Moore III -Second Vice President

J. Frank Moore III, of Daleville, Alabama, is the second vice president. He served as an international director during 1994-1996, was appointed to the Constitution and By-Laws Committee and served as its chairman in 1995 1996. He has been a 100% district governor, cabinet secretarytreasurer and a member of the Daleville Lions Club since 1975. He is a past president of the Alabama Lions Sight Conservation Association and the Past District Governors of Alabama. Vice President Moore has been a presenter and discussion leader at numerous USA/Canada Lions Leadership Forums and was a member of the Forum Planning Committee in 1997 and 1998. He has also been a group leader for the District Governors-Elect School in 1997 and 1998. He has received the 30 Member Key, Guiding Lion Award, two Extension awards, two International Leadership awards, five International President's awards and the Ambassador of Good Will Award. He is also a Progressive Melvin Jones Fellow. Vice President Moore is the Superintendent of Education for the Daleville City Schools and presently a member of the American Association of School Administrators, chairman of the Daleville City Planning and Zoning Commission, a board member of his county's United Way, a member of the board of directors of the Army Aviation Center Federal Credit Union, a member of his chamber of commerce, a trustee of the Army Aviation Museum Foundation and national Chief Executive Officer of the Association of the United States Army. Vice President Moore and his wife, Rita, have two daughters and one son.

2nd Year International Directors 1999-2000



Naresh Aggarwal Delhi, India



Carlos Almodovar Mayaguez, Puerto Rico



Carl L. Battistone Bethel Park, Pennsylvania



Dr. Dennis D. Cobler North Muskegon, Michigan



IL Yun Kim Seoul, Republic of Korea



Jay Patel North Charleston, South Carolina



Dr. Maw-Hsiung Wang Tachia, Taiwan, Republic of China



Ronald L. Duffe New Richmond, Wisconsin



Nilson Martinez Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic



Dr. Fernando Rojas Juarez, Chihuahua Mexico



Jose M. Ribeiro Gorgulho Agueda, Portugal



Richard D. Myers Fremont, Nebraska



Philip Y. Tom Des Plaines, Illinois



G.A. "Tony" Hanning

Dunedin, New Zealand

Motoaki Ono Kawaguchi, Saitama Japan



Drs Peter A. Vuurens Rotterdam, The Netherlands





1st Year International Directors 1999-2000



Nilofer Bakhtiar Rawalpindi, Pakistan



Peter G. Barilla Rumford, Rhode Island



C. Connie de la Garza Harlingen, Texas



Massimo Fabio Siena, Italy



Motohiro Fujii Fukuyama, Hiroshima Japan





Rosario, Uruguay



Stanley "Stan" Grossman Springfield, New Jersey



Dr. Tommy King Columbia, Mississippi



Robert Klein Stony Point, New York



Wayne A. Madden Auburn, Indiana



M. Nagarajan Madurai, India



Phil Nathan, South Woodham Ferrers, Essex England



Scott A. Rennels Jonesboro, Arkansas



Dr. Junichi "Jun" Takeuchi Handa Aichi, Japan



Jon Bjarni Thorsteinsson Gardabaer, Iceland



Darley T. Travers Hebron, Maryland



B.J. "Ben" Ward Erickson, Manitoba, Canada